Admirable Counties

Thank you to the Maine Counties and Commissioners shown below for their immense, special help to the cause of volunteerism!

The ‘100%’ Counties and Commissioners deserve special praise because all their municipalities had 2019 Spirit of America winners!  For the others, ‘M’ indicates acclaim for More of their municipalities having Spirit of America winners in 2019 than in 2018, and ‘P’ indicates praise for their special help in other ways!

100% Counties:



Other Counties:

Aroostook – M

Cumberland – P

Franklin – M

Hancock – P

Kennebec – P

Knox – M

Lincoln – M

Oxford – P

Penobscot – P

Piscataquis – P

Sagadahoc – P

Waldo – P

York – P

100% Commissioners:

Brian Ames

Sally Christner

Dean Cray

Patsy Crockett

Newell Graf

Carol Grose

Brian Hobart

Cyprien Johnson

Terri Kelly

Isaiah Lary

Neal Madore

John Michael

Marc Roy

Robert Sezak

Lloyd Trafton

Mary Trescot

Other Commissioners:

Paul Adams – M

Robert Andrews – M

James Annis – P

Peter Baldacci – P

Clyde Barker – M

Antonio Blasi – P

William Blodgett – M

Terry Brann – M

Richard Clark – P

William Clark – P

James Cloutier – P  

Michael Cote – P

Thomas Coward – P

Charles Crosby – P

Andre Cushing – M

David Duguay – P

Richard Dutremble – P

Wayne Erkkinen – P

Norman Fournier – P

Amy Fowler – P

Stephen Gorden – P

Neil Jamieson – P

Betty Johnson – P

Dorothy Meriwether – M

Steven Merrill – M

Hamilton Meserve – P

Richard Parent – M  

Sharyn Pohlman – P

Laura Sanborn – P

William Shorey – P

Allen Sicard – P

Timothy Turner – P

Paul Underwood – M

Charles Webster – M

James White – P

Susan Witonis – P

John Wombacher – P

For contributing so much to the success of their county’s Spirit of America program, special thanks also to others, including:

Sandra Berube, Larry Post (Androscoggin)

Sherrill Campbell, Ryan Pelletier (Aroostook)

James Gailey, Barbara Owens (Cumberland)

Vickie Braley, Mary Richards (Franklin)

Scott Adkins, Rebekah Knowlton (Hancock)

Robert Devlin, Maeghan Maloney (Kennebec)

Wendy Galvin, Andrew Hart (Knox)

Carrie Kipfer, Deborah Tibbetts (Lincoln)

Abby Shanor, Tom Winsor (Oxford)

William Collins, Mary Anne Hesseltine (Penobscot)

Michael Williams, Robert Young (Piscataquis)

Sharon Gaworski-Holman, Pamela Hile, Joel Merry (Sagadahoc)

Lori Costa, Dawn DiBlasi, Rochelle Roelofs (Somerset)

Barbara Arseneau, Nicole Hubbard (Waldo)

Kathryn Dumont, Gregory Zinser (York)